RIDCC 2024

“The world’s biggest choreographic duet competition”

20-22 June 2024
Theater Rotterdam

Buy your tickets now!
In June 2024, choreographic talent from all over the world will travel to Rotterdam for the sixth edition of the Rotterdam International Duet Choreography Competition (RIDCC). A must for all dance lovers! Sixteen choreographers will present multi-styled, innovative and remarkable duets, while competing for outstanding awards. Discover the work of a new generation of dance artists at Theater Rotterdam!

The competition
RIDCC is very proud to present this vibrant and unique event where sixteen selected choreographers will compete for outstanding prizes. You can witness the sixteen multi-style duets during the preliminary rounds on 20 and 21 June. On Saturday 22 June, the event will come to a close with a grand finale featuring the duets that have been selected by a prestigious jury. From this selection, the jury will choose the winner of the XL Production Award, while the RIDCC partners will choose the winners of the Partner Awards from all sixteen participants. Finally, over drinks and snacks, you will decide which talented choreographer will receive the Audience Award. A festive awards ceremony will announce all RIDCC 2024 winners.
A special feature of the 2024 edition will be the performance of the 2018 RIDCC participants Danae and Dionysios (Greece), who will return with two site-specific performances. The afternoon performance Napi, the girl and the bubble, also suitable for a young audience, is inspired by Hayao Miyazaki’s My Neighbour Totoro. This choreography tells the story of a fascinating friendship between a girl and a mysterious but familiar creature. In addition, the duo will present their latest work Fάrιsa, which follows two characters in their longing for connection and contact. Both pieces will be presented as outdoor performances (four in total) on Schouwburgplein, on Friday and Saturday.

Programme RIDCC
Thu 20 June 8:00 pm semifinal – TR Schouwburg grote zaal
Fri 21 June 8:00 pm semifinal – TR Schouwburg grote zaal
Sat 22 June 8:00 pm final – TR Schouwburg grote zaal

Dance workshop
Are you not only a dance lover, but also interested in the art of choreography? During the RIDCC event, we organize in collaboration with LGBT sportsclub Ketelbinkie a LGBTQIA – dance workshop.

RIDCC looks forward to taking you on this exclusive journey to discover the work of a new generation of dance artists.